Granny Saides Blue Berry Crunch Cake

I found this recipe YEARS ago and has been a favorite in our house ever since.  It’s a recipe Justin Timberlake shared on ABC.  It’s one his Granny use to make.  It’s an amazing dessert and also a great brunch recipe as well.

Ingredients:

1 Tall can of crushed pineapple undrained

3 cups blueberries

3/4 cup sugar

1 cup chopped pecans (optional, my family doesn’t like them so I don’t include them.)

1 stick margarine, melted

1/4 cup sugar

1 box yellow cake mix

2 Tbls margarine, melted

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Butter a 9×13 baking dish. Pour can of pineapple into baking dish. Coat blueberries with ¾ cup of sugar and pour on top of pineapple. Optional: Add 1 tablespoon melted margarine to the blueberries and sugar to help the sugar stick to the berries. Sprinkle dry yellow cake mix on top of blueberries. Optional: Add ½ cup chopped pecans to cake mix before sprinkling. Drizzle melted stick of margarine on top of cake mix. Mix ¼ cup sugar with 1 cup pecans and sprinkle on top. Optional: Add 1 tablespoon melted margarine to help sugar stick to pecans. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour.

Some changes I have made along the way:
Blueberries are pretty expensive, especially three cups worth.  I began using frozen blueberries and added strawberries as well.  Make sure they are completely thawed and drained as much as possible.  I also used Splenda instead of real sugar and I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter Spray instead of margarine.  I try to cut calories where ever I can.  I will say it’s not quite as tasty, but it’s still amazing.  When I’m making for people other than my family, I will use real sugar and I also like to use real butter.  I know this is bad, but I also use two sticks of butter instead of margarine.  Oh My Goodness it tastes heavenly.  I like the butter over the yellow cake. It’s my favorite part and I usually pick all that part off and eat just that if there is any left overs (not often though).  It’s very much like a cobbler, try it with vanilla ice cream.  You can also try it with peaches or pears…. YUMMMMM
I hope you all try this recipe.  It’s fantastic.  Let me know how it turns out!!!!
Leave a Reply

